The Only True God

deity of Christ 1

Q. I have a few questions about the deity of Jesus. I have a friend who is the pastor of a church which does not believe in the Trinity. They believe the Father is the only true God Yahweh, and that Jesus is not equal to the Father. His reasons are listed below. Can you comment on his rationale?

a) There is no explicit declaration from Jesus in scripture to claim Himself as the Yahweh God.

A. Not true. Jesus claimed equality with God, and Yahweh’s name for Himself:
Jn 5:18 For this reason they tried all the more to kill him; not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was even calling God his own Father, making himself equal with God.
• Jn 8:58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!”
• Ex 3:18 God said to Moses, “I am who I am. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I am has sent me to you.’”

He also claimed to be one substance with the Father. The Jews understood what He meant and tried to stone Him.
Jn 10:30, 33 “I and the Father are one.” … “We are not stoning you for any good work,” they replied, “but for blasphemy, because you, a mere man, claim to be God.”

How about the Father addressing the Son as God:
Heb 1:8 But about the Son he says, “Your throne, O God, will last for ever and ever; a scepter of justice will be the scepter of your kingdom.

b) In the scripture, one can only find the title “God the Father”, but the titles “God the Son” and “God the Holy Spirit” do not appear. The titles Jesus Christ the Lord and Jesus Christ the Savior are explicitly found.

This is true, but not enough to disprove the deity of Christ. The critics insist on Jesus having the title in the form that they want. But Scripture do not need to conform to man’s requirements; man has to conform to Scripture’s requirements. Scripture in fact applied many of Yahweh’s titles to Jesus e.g.

The First and the Last:
Isa 44:6 “This is what the Lord says— Israel’s King and Redeemer, the Lord Almighty: I am the first and I am the last; apart from me there is no God.
• Isa 48:12 “Listen to me, Jacob, Israel, whom I have called: I am he; I am the first and I am the last.
• Rev 1:17 When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. Then he placed his right hand on me and said: “Do not be afraid. I am the First and the Last.
• Rev 2:8 “To the angel of the church in Smyrna write: These are the words of him who is the First and the Last, who died and came to life again.
• Rev 22:13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

The Isaiah passages clearly referred to Almighty God, while the Revelation passages clearly referred to Jesus

Another example, the Alpha and the Omega:
Rev 1:8 “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is, and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”
• Rev 21:6 He said to me: “It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life.
• Rev 22:13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

In Rev 1:8 the Lord God, the Almighty, is the Alpha and the Omega, who in Rev 21:7 said, “I will be their God.” But the context of Rev. 22:13 clearly identified the Alpha and the Omega as Jesus (22:16, 20). Incidentally this is also Jesus’ self declaration, just not while He was on earth.

(To be continued)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

