Way, Truth, Life

way truth life 9

Q. Men pursue happiness, but in Jn 14:6 Jesus said, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” I’m thinking happiness is related to life only. Is life alone sufficient to fulfill human’s needs? Jesus mentioned 3 separate words: the Way, the Truth and the Life, which I believe is the true fulfillment of the void in human beings. So what are the teachings in the Bible that tie these 3 things to fulfill the ultimate emptiness of human beings?

A. The Way, the Truth, and the Life occur together only in one verse in the Bible, namely Jn 14:6, which has the following structure:

I AM the Way,
—–the Truth, and
—–the Life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.

In other words, I AM the Way to the Father because I AM the Truth and the Life. The “I am” is strongly emphatic, meaning “I myself, only I, am.” Jesus used this intensive form in other places in John:
Jn 8:58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” Jesus was calling Himself God, that’s why the Jews picked up stones to stone Him.
Jn 18:5 “I am he,” Jesus said. The words were so powerful that the soldiers drew back and fell to the ground (Jn 18:6).
In both places Jesus was claiming the name of Yahweh for Himself (Ex 3:14). So the first clue in the beginning (I AM) and end (me) of this verse is that the whole focus is on Jesus.

Secondly, Jesus said “the Way” with the definite article, meaning “the only Way.” What way? The way to the Father. Peter nailed this down in:
Acts 4:12 Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved.”
Jesus is not one among many, but the one and only way to God. There is no other way.

Third, again Jesus used the definite article to indicate He is “the only Truth.” Pilate asked, “What is truth?” (Jn 18:38) Truth is embodied in Jesus Christ:
Jn 1:14 The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.
• Jn 1:17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ.

Without Christ there would not be grace and truth. He is the source of all truth.

Fourth, Jesus is “the only Life”. There are many references in John alone, so I will cite only a few as examples:
Jn 1:4 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind.
• Jn 3:36 Whoever believes in the Son has eternal life, but whoever rejects the Son will not see life, for God’s wrath remains on them.
• Jn 5:21 For just as the Father raises the dead and gives them life, even so the Son gives life to whom he is pleased to give it.
• Jn 5:40 yet you refuse to come to me to have life.
• Jn 6:35 Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.
• Jn 6:47-48 Very truly I tell you, the one who believes has eternal life. I am the bread of life.
• Jn 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.
• Jn 11:25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die;

Jesus is the sole source of life, not just quantitatively in duration (eternal), but also qualitatively to the full (abundance). Without Jesus there would not be life.

So to answer your question, taking this verse all together, Jesus as LORD is the only Way to the Father and true happiness as He is the only Truth and the only Life. Man will find true fulfillment and joy only in Him and Him alone. There is nothing else besides Him. He is exclusive, unique. With Him, all things are possible. Without Him, you have nothing. Nothing else matters.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

