Life Management Plan 1

life management 2

So many things to do, so little time! Another thing I learned at LMC that I wished I had learned earlier is a life management plan (LMP). It would have saved me a lot of time and effort wasted on unimportant things. In our life journey everyone has 4 basic questions:
1. Where are we going?
2. When are we going?
3. Where are we starting from? and
4. How will we get there?

A LMP answers these 4 questions in a written plan describing how God can get His desired results in and through our life. It is important for you to have your own plan, because if you don’t then others will run your life for you.

But before we can start our LMP, we need to have the foundation in place. There are 4 components to this foundation:
1. God’s Word – This is the most basic. Everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. But everyone who hears these words of mine and does not put them into practice is like a foolish man who built his house on sand (Mt 7:24, 26).
2. Identity in Christ – This is who you are in Christ. Depending on their personality and life experience, people see their relationship to God differently. Some emphasize they are a child of God, others see themselves as Christ’s friend, still others view themselves as joint heirs with Christ etc. Who you see yourselves to be drives your life mission. In my case, I see myself as reconciled to God and a minister of reconciliation (2 Co 5:18-19), and act accordingly.

mission values 1

3. Values – Core values are statements of what is important to me. They help with integrity and decision-making. As an example, my core values are in http://raykliu.wordpress.com/mission-statement-and-core-values/
4. Mission Statement – A personal mission statement is a declaration by an individual that tells who they are, why they exist, and what are to be the results of their lives. It answers the questions:
a. Who am I?
b. Why do I exist?
c. What do I do?/How do I serve?
d. What are my areas of giftedness? and
e. What are the benefits to the ones I serve?
These 4 elements answer the question “Why am I going?” before we even ask the questions “to where, from where, when, and how are we going?” They shape everything in your life plan.

(To be continued)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

