Daniel’s Four Beasts (1 of 2)

4 beasts 10

Q. I read an article that says, “the TIME-FRAME in which Daniel’s Four Beasts appear MUST BE the LAST DAYS immediately before the Second Coming of Jesus … These Four Beasts CANNOT be the ancient kingdoms of Babylon, Persia, Greece and Rome …
• The lion (first beast) is most clearly associated with Great Britain …
• The bear (second beast), in modern times is universally known as RUSSIA …
• No other country in history has been more prominently identified with a leopard (third beast) than Germany …
• The fourth beast is the end-time world government (AKA New World Order).”
Is this credible?

A. Interpretations are as good as the interpreters’ exegesis. If the premise is faulty, so are the conclusions. I am open to fresh insights into the text, but am also cautious of mavericks who throw time-tested interpretations overboard to opt for something sensational. The article you read is no exception. But before I address where I disagree with his reasoning, let me state what my position is, and why.

winged lion 1

Dan 7:4 The first was like a lion, and it had the wings of an eagle. The winged-lion is a symbol of Babylon (refer British Museum). The wings torn off refers to Nebuchadnezzar’s dream where the tree representing him was cut down and its branches trimmed off (Dan 4:14, 23), while the giving of the human mind refers to sanity being restored to him (Dan 4:34).
Dan 7:5 And there before me was a second beast, which looked like a bear. It was raised up on one of its sides, and it had three ribs in its mouth between its teeth. The bear represents Medo-Persia, with the Persian arm stronger (raised). The three ribs represent the three kingdoms it conquered: Lydia, Babylon, and Egypt.
Dan 7:6 After that, I looked, and there before me was another beast, one that looked like a leopard. And on its back it had four wings like those of a bird. This beast had four heads, and it was given authority to rule. The winged leopard represents the speedy conquests of Alexander the Great (Greece). The four heads represent the four generals who split the empire after Alexander’s death: Lysimachus (north), Seleucus (east), Ptolemy (south), and Cassander (west).
Dan 7:7 After that, in my vision at night I looked, and there before me was a fourth beast—terrifying and frightening and very powerful. It had large iron teeth; … It was different from all the former beasts, and it had ten horns. The unnamed fourth beast represents the Roman Empire, which 10 horns are 10 kings (Dan 7:24). Various kingdoms have been proposed, but when the Roman Empire broke up it divided into exactly 10 kingdoms: Alemanni or Huns (Germany), Franks (France), Burgundians (Switzerland), Suevi (Portugal), Visigoths (Spain), Anglo-Saxons (England), Lombards or Bavarians (Italy), Vandals, Ostrogoths, and Heruli. The last three were uprooted and no longer exist, just as Daniel predicted.

(To be continued)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: