Why Am I Here?

why am I here 1

Q. Why am I here on this earth? What’s the purpose of me spending my life here?

A. The Westminster Shorter Catechism answers the question “What is the chief end of man?” this way: Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy Him forever:

1 Co 10:31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.
• Ps 73:24-26 You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

The chief end is the primary purpose. If we fail to know God and glorify Him, then all other secondary purposes are unimportant because the alternative to enjoying Him forever is eternal suffering. So step 1 is to know God, not just intellectually but to be properly related to Him.

Many people are interested in knowing not just the chief end, but the specific reasons for why they are spending whatever the amount of time they’re allotted here. That depends on their particular calling. God has a purpose for each of us, but not all are called to greatness. Some may even be raised to be a negative object lesson:

2 Tim 2:20 But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay, some for honor and some for dishonor.
• Rom 9:17 For the Scripture says to the Pharaoh, “For this very purpose I have raised you up, that I may show My power in you, and that My name may be declared in all the earth.”

Regarding how to discover God’s purpose for your life, Rick Warren’s “The Purpose-Driven Life” suggests using the following:
Spiritual Gift;
Heart;
Abilities;
Personality; and
Experiences.
These factors help you assess all that God has put in your life to shape you to be the person you are, and how you can use your God-given potential to the fullest. Many tools are available to let you evaluate your SHAPE. Just do a Google search and you will find many free online resources.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

