Are Christians “little gods”?

exegesis 3

Q. I heard a prosperity gospel preacher say Christians are “little gods”, because they are God’s children and share His divinity. Is this valid?

A. No, it’s not valid. He is the Creator; we are His creatures. He is divine; we are human. God alone is God. Besides Him there is no other gods:

Deut 4:35 You were shown these things so that you might know that the LORD is God; besides him there is no other.
• Isa 44:8 Do not tremble, do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago? You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.”
• Isa 45:5 I am the LORD, and there is no other; apart from me there is no God. I will strengthen you, though you have not acknowledged me,
• Isa 45:21b-22 Was it not I, the LORD? And there is no God apart from me, a righteous God and a Savior; there is none but me. “Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth; for I am God, and there is no other.
• Isa 46:9 Remember the former things, those of long ago; I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me.

exegesis 7

The error arises from a misinterpretation of Jn 10:34 quoting Ps 82:6:

Jn 10:34 Jesus answered them, “Is it not written in your Law, ‘I have said you are “gods”’?
• Ps 82:6 “I said, ‘You are “gods”; you are all sons of the Most High.’

Jesus quoted Ps 82:6 to argue from the lesser to the greater (Jn 10:35-38). If God called rulers on earth (v 7) “gods” because they represent Him, then Jesus whom the Father chose and did the Father’s work can rightly call Himself “God’s Son”.

Ps 82:5 “The ‘gods’ know nothing, they understand nothing. They walk about in darkness; all the foundations of the earth are shaken.
• Ps 82:7 But you will die like mere mortals; you will fall like every other ruler.”

The “gods”, kings and judges who represented God, were really ignorant (v 5) and mortal (v 7), not gods at all, mere fallible human beings who perverted justice. If they can be called “gods”, then the Jews were wrong in accusing Jesus of blasphemy.

Yet this proper interpretation did not prevent people from twisting God’s word and imposing their own meaning onto the text. The Word of Faith movement had argued from this and other misinterpreted Scriptures that Christians are “little gods”, and that they can “name it and claim it” because as gods their words have power. This “prosperity gospel” or “health and wealth gospel” is really a perversion of the true gospel and heretical. It is dangerous to go beyond what the Bible actually said, and twisting Scripture to inject your own ideas into the text, which cults do all the time. Every text then becomes a pretext.

eisegesis 1

Our goal should be exegesis, drawing out from the text what the word of God actually said. To do otherwise would be eisegesis. And if you torture a text long enough it will confess to whatever you want it to say. Let me borrow from Rev 22:18-19 I warn everyone who hears the words of the prophecy of this scroll: If anyone adds anything to them, God will add to that person the plagues described in this scroll. And if anyone takes words away from this scroll of prophecy, God will take away from that person any share in the tree of life and in the Holy City, which are described in this scroll. Do exegesis, not eisegesis.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

