Strength

strength 7

If I can think of one movie example of endurance in the face of adversity, it would be the mid 70’s boxer Rocky Balboa. He was an underdog who was given a chance to fight against the reigning world heavyweight champion, and he went the distance in the face of overwhelming odds. However, even if you have his endurance and “never say die” attitude, you still need strength and speed in your punches to win.

Strength is important, but using physical analogy to draw parallels to spiritual truths has its limitations, and strength is one example. Because unlike the world’s focus on building up your own strength and power, the biblical emphasis is always relying on God as your strength:
Php 4:13 I can do all this through Him who gives me strength.
• 1 Tim 1:12 I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has given me strength, that he considered me trustworthy, appointing me to his service.
• 2 Tim 4:17 But the Lord stood at my side and gave me strength, so that through me the message might be fully proclaimed and all the Gentiles might hear it.
• 1 Pet 4:11 … If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.

Why? Because God does not want us to be proud and boast. He wants the praise to flow back to Him, not men.

Furthermore, God’s ways are not man’s ways. In fact, they are often the opposite:
1 Co 1:25, 27 For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength. But God chose the foolish things of the world to shame the wise; God chose the weak things of the world to shame the strong.
• 2 Co 12:10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

When we are weak, we can’t depend on ourselves. We have to trust God to deliver us, and that’s when we become strong:
Heb 11:34 quenched the fury of the flames, and escaped the edge of the sword; whose weakness was turned to strength; and who became powerful in battle and routed foreign armies.

So next time when you think you have little strength and can’t really do much, turn from mulling over your weakness to drawing on God’s strength. Trust instead. He’ll see you through.
Rev 3:8 … I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

