Why Can’t a Woman be more like a Man? And Vice Versa

my fair lady 2

Why can’t a woman be more like a man? That’s the lament of Professor Higgins to his friend Colonel Pickering in My Fair Lady. Let me quote from that song’s lyrics, in an exchange between Higgins and Pickering, a few of his pet peeves:
Would you be slighted if I didn’t speak for hours? Of course not.
Would you be wounded if I never sent you flowers? Never.
If I were hours late for dinner would you bellow? Of course not.
If I forgot your silly birthday, would you fuss? Nonsense.
Why can’t a woman be like us?

Those may not be your complaints, but everyone has his own rants. In my case it’s shopping. I guess after 40 years of marriage I should have known better, but I didn’t learn. When (most) men shop, they typically know what they need or want, go to the store, make their choice, try it on to see if it fits, pay up, and would be out within 20 minutes.

Not so with women. When they shop, it’s as if they’ve gone to heaven on earth and want to linger as long as possible. Especially when they go to clothing outlet malls, they would generally go from store to store to look at what’s on sale. They may have lots of similar items in their wardrobe, many rarely or even never worn, or have absolutely no need of until they see the sale sign, but never mind, it’s such a good bargain that they got to have it. They would try a dozen outfits just to pick one, ask for your opinion, then turn around and totally ignore it. After spending over an hour in one store, they’re still there, and there are dozens of other stores they want to visit!

If you want to learn patience, shopping would be a good exercise. The smart husband or boyfriend would bring a book, smart phone or tablet to while away the time. But if you forgot your book or your battery is draining low, then good luck to you. You are stuck and just have to put up with the boredom. After all, there are only so many cups of coffee you can drink before your bladder is full and you have to visit the restroom for the umpteenth time. You see lots of other men in the same boat as you are, sitting down on benches to wait because their feet are tired from standing, periodically glancing at their watches to see when their misery might end. It’s like solitary confinement with absolutely nothing to do, except that there are plenty of people around – happy women and miserable men.

Why can’t a woman be more like a man? But if that were the case we would miss the softer side of humanity. I suppose women can ask the same question – “Why can’t a man be more like a woman?”. I prefer the Lord’s solution. God made people male and female, people who are left or right-brain dominant, strategic versus detailed thinkers, tasks versus relationship oriented, doers versus sensitive caring types etc. That’s not to stereotype gender, as there are men and women in both camps. You just have to learn to live with the differences. Actually I should have learned a long time ago, as the gender roles are all in the Bible. I guess I was just too dense for my own good.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • me  On February 9, 2014 at 6:09 pm

    That’s right, stop being so dense…..:-)

  • Sandy Shim  On February 10, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    LOL.. That is why the world is so beautiful ! There are always 2 sides to everything. God’s creation is balanced (as someone said abut the universe yesterday)!

Leave a comment